10 Graphic Novels To Read If You Liked The Show

Heart stroke is one of Netflix’s most unique and moving new offerings. The emotional and romantic core of the series comes almost verbatim from the online comic and graphic novel series that serves as the inspiration for the TV adaptation, and the more intimate and emotional moments are almost photocopied.

Author Alice Oseman helped create the series, and those who love the TV series will no doubt love the graphic novel. And as excellent as the Heart stroke the comics are, there are so many other stories in the same vein that are more than worth reading.

Bloom


Ari and Hector look at each other

Savanna Ganucheau is the artist and writer behind the charming graphic novel Bloom. This story follows a baker who is fed up with his job and needs a change of pace. When he begins to train a passionate young man to replace himself, they grow closer and closer. The love that blossoms from their meeting is very similar to that of Nick and Charlie.

VIDEO OF THE DAY

Related: 10 Other LGTBTQ+ Couples On TV Like Heartstopper’s Nick & Charlie

More than just a story, the art style is often reminiscent Heart stroke‘s, but maybe with more details. The real star of the show is the food, which Ganucheau portrays in tantalizing detail only a true foodie can provide. As a Louisiana native, Ganucheau has probably seen the best of the best in terms of food.

Nimona


Nimona is the story of a shapeshifting young girl who becomes the sidekick of a chivalrous but villainous knight. The story takes place in a unique universe mixing technology and magic. It seems to choose how medieval and how modern the setting is by the moments the plot needs.


This award-winning graphic novel comes from ND Stevenson, who continues to develop incredible series with strong queer themes. Stevenson’s other major work is Lumberjacksabout a summer camp for girls that has mystical secrets throughout – these two projects are developed into animated series, with Nimona get an accompanying film adaptation.

Encourage Yourself: Love and Pompoms


Comfort!  Blanket Love and Pompoms

Comfort! is the story of two high school girls who want to become cheerleaders. Beatrice and Annie are two strange characters who set a goal and move towards it, despite the many struggles that arise when their goals and identities collide. Their own individual identities form the crux of the story.


Beatrice, a transsexual, finds her identity challenged as she takes the steps to join the cheerleading team. Annie, as an antisocial lesbian, struggles with college applications and a lack of social life – the two rekindle a past friendship as they learn the ropes and figure out how to contribute to a team of encouragement.

Stone fruit


Stone Fruit by Lee Lai Cover clipping

Stone fruit is one of the saddest novels on this list, in part because it’s a story at the end of a relationship, rather than the beginning. Bron and Ray are two queer lesbians who have lived together for some time and are feeling the stress of a long-term relationship that is beginning to weigh on them. Then comes Ray’s niece.


Related: The 10 Best Graphic Novels Not About Superheroes, According To Ranker

This niece, Annie, provides a bridge for her two aunts to develop a new relationship, whether it’s between them, between Ray and Annie’s religious mother, or between Bron and his teenage sister. This novel is very melancholic with its blue watercolor style, but it creates something hopeful and down to earth.

Daughter of the Sea: A Graphic Novel


A scene from Daughter of the Sea

As it should be, this novel is closely related to the previous one Nimona. The daughter of the sea is a work of the mind of Molly Ostertag, wife of ND Stevenson. While there are clear themes the two share in their works, Molly has an incredible career in her own right with a trilogy of queer books behind her, starting with The boy wizard.


The daughter of the sea follows the story of a teenage girl, Morgan, who deals with the stresses of her family, friends, and life in the closet. One night she nearly drowned but is saved by a mysterious girl named Keltie. The slowly blossoming romance between the two is a slow burn that mirrors that of Heart stroke Alright – it’s a great happy read for Pride Month.

Laura Dean keep breaking up with me


Unlike many others on this list, Laura Dean keep breaking up with me is an Eisner Award-winning graphic novel about a couple coming out of the closet. the story is much less a love story and more a “relationship management” story. Although the subject matter and themes are closely related to Heart strokethis story has its own, more mature direction.

Freddy, a teenage lesbian, is stuck in an on-again-off-again relationship with titular Laura Dean. Most of the story follows her seeking advice from an advice columnist, a psychic, and a close friend. The advice she receives may be revealing of readers’ relationships and love lives, or they may be treading on uncharted territory.

Please check!


Check the comic book cover please

Please check! shares a lot of details with earphone. Both started life as webcomics before being put together into graphic novels. Both feature sport as a central theme – Heart stroke with rugby and Please check! with hockey. The two also follow young gay men trying to find themselves in life.

Related: 9 Hard-To-Find Graphic Novels Worth Your Time

Please check! does some very unique things that make it unique, like backing up the fall and Twitter accounts for main character Eric, who also vlogs the novels. The story is very charming and sweet, and makes much more use of the hockey player setting to further the plot – and the romance -.

Pixels of you


Pixels of you cover art clippings

A much more fantastical novel than most, Pixels of you is a sci-fi graphic novel that explores identity in many ways, both inside and outside the body. Science fiction is generally one of the most exploratory and philosophical genres and is often at the forefront of exploration beyond gender and sexuality binaries.


Indira and Fawn are two young women who work in an art studio in the near future. They are distant and ignorant of each other, but as they work and learn together they become more than friends. Indira helps Fawn learn more about her AI identity, while Fawn helps Indira come to terms with her trauma and loss.

fun house


The Fun Home family outside their home

No list of queer-themed graphic novels is complete without Allison Bechdel’s. fun house. This autobiographical graphic novel tells the story of Allison’s young life at the Fun Home and beyond – her and her brother’s name for the family funeral home – as well as her handling of her father’s death years later. late.

This graphic novel is one of the most respected and beloved in the medium, thanks to powerful imagery, well-written emotion, and deeper readings in the text. Since its release, this graphic novel has been adapted into an (also award-winning) off-broadway musical that follows the same story. This novel is an excellent introduction to the medium for beginners.

Spinning


Spinning by Tillie Walden - cover clipping

Spinning is a graphic novel and memoir in the same vein as fun house. Author and cartoonist Tillie Walden tells the story of her own coming of age as a young figure skater and the struggles she faced back then. This story covers her own struggles with sexuality, bullying, and traumatic experiences as a young girl.


Although it is sometimes very difficult to read, it offers readers a raw and honest portrait of the difficulty of life for young homosexuals. Although many queer works of art today push for more optimistic, happy and idealistic portrayals, it is important to recognize the realities that many queer youth still face today.

Next: 5 Similarities And 5 Differences Between The Heartstopper Show And The Graphic Novels

DC officially names the four types of superheroes


About the Author

Comments are closed.