Amazon’s Best Books in 2021 So Far Include Fiction, Biography, Memoir & Thrillers | Opinions

0


Amazon announced on June 9 its picks for the best books of 2021 so far, selecting the epic American saga of Maggie Shipstead Large Circle – a story about independence, getting rid of your past, following your dreams and pushing your limits – as selection n ° 1.

Throughout the year, Amazon Books publishers scan thousands of pages to determine the best books of the month, the best books of the year so far, and the best books of the year, discussing the new versions in various categories.

After curating titles published from January to June 2021, Amazon Books editors have selected options to read by the pool or listen to on summer trips, or to help readers looking to better understand the diverse experiences and cultures. The list covers genres and categories, including ambitious literary fiction, compelling biographies and memoirs, and gripping psychological thrillers.

“For the best books of the year so far, the publishers of Amazon Books wanted to create a list that not only reflects the amazing books that have been published this year, but also helps readers escape – whatever either sit on a lawn chair in their backyard or take their first vacation in over a year, “said Sarah Gelman, editorial director of Amazon Books.” It was pretty clear that the Great Circle of Maggie Shipstead was our favorite book so far this year – it transcends decades, continents and conventions, and is unforgettable read for this summer and beyond. “

The stubbornness and wit of Marian Graves, the main protagonist of The Great Circle of Shipstead, has trickled down to readers. As a tribute to the title of the book, many readers have emphasized a specific passage in the book more than others: “Circles are wonderful because they are endless. All that is endless is wonderful. But infinity is also torture. I knew the horizon could never be caught, but I was chasing it anyway. What I have done is insane; I had no choice but to do it.

After learning that Great Circle was Amazon Books’ top pick for the first half of 2021, Shipstead congratulated all of the authors on the list and noted that the accolade had special significance: “I am so delighted to the point of amazement that ‘Amazon Has Included Great Take a tour of these wonderful books, not to mention the fact that they gave it the # 1 spot. Each novel contains fragments of the heart and soul of its author, and this book is full of very large chunks, which makes its inclusion extremely meaningful.

The top Amazon Books publisher picks in 2021 so far are:

Large Circle by Maggie Shipstead: At a young age Marian Graves becomes obsessed with flying, and she will do whatever it takes to soar into the skies and around the world. Fast forward 100 years, and Hadley Baxter is remaking herself in Hollywood as Marian Graves in a Hollywood bio-epic. From Montana to Los Angeles, London to New Zealand, Great Circle follows these two women who yearn for adventure and freedom, and who love to fly, it’s the thrill of the century. – Al Woodworth

Klara and the sun by Kazuo Ishiguro: When he received the 2017 Nobel Prize for Literature, the committee noted how Ishiguro “discovered the abyss under our illusory sense of connection with the world”. In this beautiful novel, Ishiguro presents an “artificial friend”, a robot girl with artificial intelligence designed as a playmate for real children. It’s a heartbreaking yet heartbreaking story about the abyss that we may never cross. – Chris Schluep

The Code Breaker: Jennifer Doudna, gene editing and the future of the human race by Walter Isaacson: Isaacson is famous for writing Steve Jobs and Leonardo da Vinci, so a title like The Code Breaker might involve a book about an inferior character. But 2020 Nobel laureate in chemistry, biochemist Jennifer Doudna, who co-developed CRISPR gene-editing technology, is a giant in her own right. CRISPR could open up some of the greatest opportunities and most troubling dilemmas of this century – and that book is here. – Chris Schluep

We start at the end by Chris Whitaker: We Begin at the End is a story of regret and revenge, wrapped around a mystery, buried in a cursed love story. Duchess Radley, a thirteen-year-old ‘outlaw’ – fierce but vulnerable – tries to protect her struggling mother, but instead sets off a fateful chain of events in this beautiful and heartbreaking novel. – Vannessa Cronin

What is mine and yours by Naima Coster: For fans of Celeste Ng, Ann Patchett and Jacqueline Woodson, What’s Mine and Yours beautifully unravel the pain, happiness and hope that one generation bestows on the next. An unforgettable portrait of how parents and children – white and black – deal with love and loss, racism and loyalties. – Al Woodworth

The four winds by Kristin Hannah: Set during the Great Depression and featuring an unlikely heroine who will lodge in your heart, The Four Winds is a reminder, when we need it so urgently, of the resilience of not just the human spirit , but from this country as well. Kristin Hannah’s latest reads like a classic. – Erin Kodicek

Gold diggers by Sanjena Sathian: This debut novel is part an examination of the immigrant experience, part an exploration of the dark underbelly of the suburbs, all with a touch of magical realism. Two second-generation American Indians discover that drinking lemonade made from literal gold is the secret to success, and their lives are forever merged and changed. If this funny, realistic, and heartbreaking story is any indication, Sathian is an author to watch. – Sarah Gelman

The parcel by Jean Hanff Korelitz: The Plot is a gripping story within a story that is a Rubik’s Cube of twists and turns. Jake Finch Bonner, a once promising young author, flounders in the dark when a single plot falls to his knees. The resulting book propels Jake to stardom – only the plot wasn’t his. Korelitz’s thriller leaves readers guessing until its shocking ending. – Seira Wilson

Chatter: The voice in our head, why it matters and how to use it by Ethan Kross: Turns out some of the most important conversations we have are with ourselves. Ethan Kross examines the voice that speaks in our head, explains why it’s there, and reveals how we can learn to trust it rather than being broken by it. Chatter is a masterful and revealing vision of human nature. – Chris Schluep

For the full list of the best books of the year so far, covering kids, romance, science, mysteries, business, history, and more, visit amazon.com/bestbookssofar

Editor’s note: What are your best books so far in 2021? Submit your list and comments to kpcnews.com/site/forms/online_services/letter


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.