Columbus Resident Hanif Abdurraqib Wins 2022 Ohioana Book Award

Anthony Doerauthor of the novel “Land of the Cloud Cuckoo,” and Hanif Abdurraqibthe Columbus resident who wrote “A Little Devil in America: Notes in Glory of Black Performanceare among the 2022 Ohioana Book Awards winners just announced.

Doerr, whose previous novel was “All the Light We Can’t See,” is from Cleveland.

Its winner in the fiction category, “Cloud Cuckoo Land,” is an ambitious novel that weaves five stories from Constantinople in the 15th century to the future.

Visual arts:Latinx art more than crafts and pop culture, as the “Diálogos” exhibition shows

Abdurraqib, a poet and essayist, won the prize for his non-fiction book on black artists, ‘A Little Devil in America’, which also won this year’s Carnegie Medal. His previous works include the 2016 poetry collection “The Crown Ain’t Worth Much” and the 2017 collection of essays “They Can’t Kill Us Until They Kill Us”.

Anthony Doer

Additional 2022 winners are Brian Alexander in the category about Ohio or an Ohioan for his book “The Hospital: Life, Death, and Dollars in a Small American Town”; Felicia Zamora, poetry, for “I still carry my bones”; Jasmine Warga, intermediate and children’s literature, for “The Shape of Thunder”; and Andrea Wang, children’s literature, for “Watercress,” which also won the 2022 Caldecott Medal for Most Distinguished Picture Book.

The winner of the readers’ choice award is Manuel Iris for his book “The Parting Present/Lo que se ira”, his book of poems based on his life experiences.

Louise Ling Edwards is the winner of the Walter Rumsey Marvin Fellowship given to an Ohio writer aged 30 or younger who has not yet published a book. Edwards is an essayist and poet who graduated from Oberlin College and holds a master’s degree from The Ohio State University. She writes about life as a biracial and bisexual woman as well as her experiences living in China’s Shanxi province for two years.

The 2000 winner of the Walter Rumsey Marvin Fellowship was Anthony Doerr, then 26 years old.

Plant animals:Want to see exotic animal topiaries? 25 are on the prowl at the Franklin Park Conservatory

All awards, with the exception of the Readers’ Choice Award, were selected by juries.

David Weaver, executive director of the Ohioana Library, which awards the awards, called this year’s winners “a stellar list of some of America’s most gifted authors writing today.”

“Their work has earned them national and international honors and accolades. We can be proud to say they’re from Ohio,” he said.

First performed in 1942, the Ohioana Book Award are among the oldest and most prestigious state awards in the country. Past winners have included James Thurber, Toni Morrison, David McCullough and Jacqueline Woodson.

The awards ceremony will take place on October 26 in the atrium of the Ohio Statehouse, in person, but changes may occur. For more information, including details of the winners and their books, go to

[email protected]

Comments are closed.