FNE at MIFF 2021: 43rd Moscow International Film Festival announces winners at end of physical edition


MOSCOW: The 43rd edition of the Moscow International Film Festival awarded its first prize for the best film of the main competition to #dogpoopgirl (Romania) by Romanian director Andrei Hutuleac, who was in Moscow to receive the award at the closing ceremony on April 29. Romanian actress Andreea Gramosteanu also won the Best Actress award for her work on the film.

The festival took place from April 22 to 29, 2021 in physical form despite the challenges of holding an event with theatrical screenings as well as on-site guests and press conferences. But the drop in the rate of COVID-19 infections and the successful deployment of the Sputnik V vaccination program have allowed cinemas and theaters as well as cafes and restaurants to reopen in Moscow. This was the second year that MIFF has successfully foiled the pandemic, as the 2020 edition also physically took place in April 2020 just before Russia entered a national COVID-19 lockdown.

According to the artistic director of the festival Nikita Mikhalkov “210 films from 51 countries were shown at this festival, 447 screenings were shown on 25 screens in eight days. The 42nd festival had 27,000 spectators, so this time it was 32,000. Three times as many foreign guests have arrived, and that is an encouraging indicator. From the United States, Germany, France, Spain and other countries, 81 filmmakers came to see us, last year they were only 25. The interest in the festival is obvious. 4,200 guests and media representatives were accredited, 1,100 more than for the 42nd Moscow International Film Festival.


Main competition:

George d’or for best film
#dogpoopgirl (Romania)
Directed by Andreï Hutuleac
Co-production between DaKino Productions and Diud Films
Supported by the Romanian Cinema Center

Special Jury Prize Silver George
Blutsauger / Bloodsuckers – A Marxist Vampire Comedy (Germany)
Directed by Julian Radlmaier

Best director
Last “Dear Bulgaria” (Russia)
Directed by Alexeï Fedorchenko

Best actor
Soheil Ghannadan for Pesar / The Son (Iran)
Directed by Mahnaz Mohammadi

Best actress
Andreea Gramosteanu for #dogpoopgirl (Romania)
Directed by Andreï Hutuleac

Documentary Competition

Best film
Sabaya (Sweden)
Directed by Hogir Hirori

Short films competition

Best film
Good german job (Germany)
Directed by Jannis Alexander Kiefer

Special prize for the long devotion to the art of cinema
Valentin Gaft (Russia)

Special Award for Outstanding Achievement in Acting Career and Devotion to the Principles of the Stanislavsky School
Sergei Nikonenko (Russia)

Non-statutory prices

The time of indifference / Gli Indifférenti (Italy)
Directed by Leonardo Guerra Seragnoli

NETPAC Jury Prize
Mosul my home (Iraq)
Directed by Adalet R Garmiany

Russian Cinema Critics Award
The belly of the sea (Spain)
Directed by Agusti Villaronga

Special diploma from the Federation of Russian Film Clubs
#Dogpoopgirl (Romania)
Directed by Andreï Hutuleac

Guild Award for Non-Fiction and Television Films

Far Eastern Golgotha (Russia)
Directed by Julia Sergina

Sabaya (Sweden)
Directed by Hogir Hirori

“Keen Eye” Prize of the Russian Cinema Club Deputy
The son (Iran)
Directed by Noushin Meraji

Special diploma from the Federation of Russian Film Clubs
Last “Dear Bilgaria” (Russia)
Directed by Alexeï Fedorchenko

Russian Film Awards “Keen Eye” of the Federation of Russian Cinemas
The end of the movie (Russia)
Directed by Vladimir Kott

Public Prize
Man of god (Greece)
Directed by Yelena Popovic

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.